Northwest Review for XC Week ending 9-11

By Leo Collins

We covered the meet at Hermiston last Saturday, where Erin Hegarty of Hanford established a new course record on the course & Eduardo Juarez of Hermiston ran alone to win the boys’ title with 16:16 Leaving him close to the all-time top five runners.

It has been a busy week with some impressive individual accomplishments. What follows in no particular order is a list of highlights from other races around the Northwest. Kinsey Gomez of Coeur d’ Alene showed that she is on-track for a Foot Locker appearance with a time of 17:48. She defeated Kate Jamboretz of Boise, who finished 3rd in 18:49. Priscilla Timmons of Skyview won the Run A Ree at Hudson ‘s Bay with an impressive 18:18. Rachel Tatko of Eagle won her 3rd invitational by claiming the Curran Memorial at Nampa in 18:01. Alexandra Cross defeated Hayley Gregoire at Tualatin with an impressive 18:38. Annamarie Maag of Jesuit won the Chapman with 18:40. Payton Schutte was 2nd in 18:58. Baylee Mires of Mead claimed the Meadlander in a time of 15:17 for 2.5 miles defeating Katie Mahoney (15:43)

Marina Roberts annexed the Sehome title with a two mile time of 11:56. Mayra Chavez of Eisenhower edged her team-mate Berenice Penazola at Bellarmine 11:47.69 to 11:47.86. Rachel Atwood of Auburn Riverside won the junior race at Capital with a 2.33 mile time of 14:16, while Maureen Tremblay of Gig Harbor annexed the senior crown with a time of 14.26 Katie Bianchi of Glacier Peak took the Silverwood title with a time of 18:36. Lakeridge team mates Kelly O ‘ Neill & Latane Cox went 1 – 2 at Trask with 23:26 & 23:30. Jenna Ford of Wasilla scored at Palmer over Megan Edic of Lathrop with a time of 18:48. Jenna also won the ACS Challenge the day before with a 2 mile time of 12:01. Kailey Wilson, 2X defending small-school champion, from Kenny Lake won the 2nd division with 19:17

Dallin Farnsworth of Highland Park won the Tiger Grizz, his 2nd title this fall, with a 16:29. Justin Ross of Rocky Mountain defeated Andres Jaramillo of Vallivue at Silverwood 15:50 – 15:54. Taylor West scored at Tualatin of Kevin Kavanaugh of Beaverton & team mate Cullen Wanarka w/ 15:58. Jake Meeker of Mountain View garnered the Curran Crown over Cody Larson with 15:28. Korrey Krotzer won at Capital with a 2.33 mile time of 11:41. Kenji Bierig of Lewis & Clark took the Meadlander with 12:45. Tom Cummings annexed the Bellarmine trophy with 9:52 for 2 miles. Jack Hagler of Jesuit came home first at Tualatin with 16:22. Jackson Baker of Franklin defeated Zach Newsom of Sunset & Ian Burgess at Canby with a 16:37 clocking.

Former NW preps Kayleigh Tyerman (1st at UC Irvine 17:13) & Leo Castillo (2nd – Pier Park – 25:07) ran well collegiately & Devin McMahon led Cornell over Army in her first college race. Nationally Aisling Cuffe won at Lancaster with 17:17 & Chris Walden defeated Zach Wills at Mason 14:59 to 15:27.